Home Forums General I’m a new author and would like advice on how to get published please?

Add comment

• I’m a new author and would like advice on how to get published please?

It’s an amusing semi autobiographical book entitled “Lifting The Lid On The House Of Lords” dealing with my funny/serious moments during my 17 years as one of the staff officers in Black Rod’s Department.

Posted by joyceandmikec
Viewing 9 reply threads
    • Reply by Deborah Durbin

Hi Mike,

I’m a journalist and author of 14 books, so if you need any extra advice, feel free to message me at [email protected]

Your book sounds very interesting and I think it would attract a lot of interest from agents and publishers. First and foremost, write the book and a synopsis to send out to agents or publishers who accept unsolicited manuscripts. Much like any industry at the moment, publishers are running very slow with backlogs of work, so if you want to get your book out quickly, you can always self-publish it for free with Amazon’s Direct Publishing and find a publisher at a later date. I’d advise any author never to pay to have their work published. Hope that helps.

• Reply by joyceandmikec

Hello Deborah,

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to give me what sounds like very sensible advice – especially the bit about not paying!   I’m at 90K+ words at present and just working on an ending.   I’m satisfied with the beginning and most of the “meat” – just need to polish up the conclusion.

Once again, thanks for the encouragement!

Ever, Mike

• Reply by tsangjk