Home Forums Jobs and careers I need a career change but I’m about to be 62 years young. For the past 13 years I have worked within the care industry, children, the elderly and the disabled. In a time gone by I worked in retail. Does anyone have any ideas as to what I could do, using the skills I have. Much appreciated. Liz

Add comment

• I need a career change but I’m about to be 62 years young. For the past 13 years I have worked within the care industry, children, the elderly and the disabled. In a time gone by I worked in retail. Does anyone have any ideas as to what I could do, using the skills I have. Much appreciated. Liz

<span class=”no-content-supplied-by-user”> </span>

• This topic was modified 1 week, 5 days ago by bizzyliz_12.
    Posted by bizzyliz_12
Viewing 6 reply threads
    • Reply by iankavanagh

Liz, before asking if anyone else has any ideas about what you could look for I think you need to decide for yourself what you want to get out of a new position. Write down what you would be looking for in a new role – e.g. will it be people facing or office based, will it be full time, part time, permanent or temporary, what level of responsibility and autonomy would you have, where would it be (i.e. within x miles), what would the salary be, and what values would the organisation have (commercial, social, environmental etc). You might want to include some issues of your own. Once you have written these down you will have a much clearer view on what types of roles might fit your requirements and the basis for your search, and guidance to others whose help you seek. I hope this is helpful. Either way good luck with your quest!

• Reply by Michele Eckford

Would you be interested in a ‘zoom get-to-gether’ with others in the same boat.  We can share & discuss ideas.  I feel those of us with the Health & Wellbeing skills and experience have a lot to offer. Let me know if you’re keen.

• Reply by ginamann13