Home Forums Travel Hi, I’m new to Restless today. I’m Fed up with...

RunningGirl21 Posted 9 months ago
Hi, I’m new to Restless today. I’m Fed up with lockdown and looking forward to planning adventures . I’ve never been away in my own but am thinking perhaps now is the right time. Not sure how I feel about sitting in a restaurant or bar on my own though. How do other people get past this? Thanks
47 likes & 123 replies
    • Ronnie B 12th July 2021 at 2:21 am

Hi, Depending on where your going it may be worth travelling with a group of people you don’t know it takes away all the worries you may have, and all is sorted for you, have a look at trips with Intrepid travel, travelled many times with them and loved it all,

• karsteele 13th July 2021 at 12:07 am

I’ve done lone travel all over the world. Don’t be afraid to start a conversation in a bar or cafe. Start by asking a question. Never tell someone you’re travelling alone. Find some excuse like your travel companion has gone to visit friends or they’re at hotel having a nap. Have a fantastic time wherever you go. And last but not least respect dress codes.

• SallyAnn29 18th July 2021 at 2:01 pm

I hadn’t been away for 25 years and realised that unless I travelled solo that it would be another 25 years. I had a week away on Rhodes in 2016 and since then I’ve been away solo another 20+ times, including 2 weeks in Florida in 2019. It may be just me, but once you’ve travelled solo, you’ll never want to travel with others again. Most people have a phone, which is handy whilst sat waiting for a meal, I just people watch. If a 50-something can go to Disney World and hug a lifesize mouse, then you have nothing to fear but the fear itself. Travelling solo is liberating, you answer to no one and can do as you please.

• Flossie 18th July 2021 at 2:10 pm