Home Forums Jobs & Careers Hello from a 66 year young guy whose future is unc...

stantini Posted 2 years ago
Hello from a 66 year young guy whose future is uncertain

Hello to everyone.

My name is Tony,  I am a young 66, I Iive in Birmingham,  I work in the car manufacturing trade as a manual worker ,  and the future is looking uncertain.  I am on furlough, and unlikely to be resuming work until August at the least.

I am going to start looking for other work as there seems to be no clarity about whether my job is secure.  I do worry, and get stressed, and this is causing a lot of arguing with my wife.

I would love to work in a different environment, eg: I enjoy paper work, computer work etc: even though I have no particular skills with computers.  I enjoy meeting people and trying something new.

The trouble is, will any company take on a guy who is 66, and give him a chance to train?  I even think that retail work, whatever, would be an option also.

I am okay with figures and English, but do not hold any qualifications.

Thank you for reading this, and I want to send my best wishes to everyone.

Tony.

4 likes & 9 replies
    • iankavanagh 30th May 2020 at 2:20 pm

Hi Tony, just a tip – you are not a man of 66 years old – you are a man with X years of experience! This is the asset that any prospective employer is interested in. You and I grew up in a world where “elderly” workers were cast aside when getting to a certain age but many organisations (especially in the public and third sectors) are much more enlightened these days. One practical thing you might want to do is volunteer while you are furloughed. This will enable you to be active (which looks great on a CV), learn new skills, extend your network and see what else you may be able to do. There are lots of things, for example, that the NHS are seeking help with. Anyhow, good luck with your search. Ian

• stantini 2nd June 2020 at 9:58 pm