Home Forums History & Nostalgia Good morning, I am reaching out to ask if there ar...

stephscott17 Posted 12 months ago
Good morning, I am reaching out to ask if there are people within this group who were captivated by the Reinterment of King Richard III which took place in March 2015 at Leicester Cathedral. I would be very interested in establishing a Mid Essex Branch of The Richard. III SocIety.

I was part of the Media Team for this unique project and at one point a member of the Richard III Society Executive Committee. So a good beginning for an interesting group.
Please do contact if interested or have questions.
Stephanie

1 like & 17 replies
    • Ray 2nd June 2021 at 12:00 am

Hi Yes, very interested in this. I visited Leicester myself to see the museum and the new burial site, facinating. Also very interested in History in general. I work as a private tour guide taking couples/small family groups around sites of Historical interest so would definitely be interested in finding out more about this.

• loislane 2nd June 2021 at 12:06 am

I always find History like this fascinating, I don’t know too much about it but I’m interested

• Nick Tilling 2nd June 2021 at 2:44 pm

I was never really convinced that Leicester should be the final resting place for Richard III instead of York – On a personal basis I find Its claim is about as doubtful as Henry VII’s claim to the throne.

Leicester is a leading example for diversity but fairly unremarkable as a city, it struck me as a tourism ploy.

Having said all that, Mrs Nick went to the exhibition when visiting Leicester to see a friend – and thought it very good – particularly how they could work out which injuries were sustained in battle and those administered post-mortem.

Is there still a Plantagenet claimant to the throne?

• loislane 2nd June 2021 at 2:49 pm

I thought there was, Nick, was he in Canada?

• Nick Tilling 2nd June 2021 at 2:59 pm