Home Forums Dating Friendship

SylviaB Posted 6 months ago
Friendship

Does anyone go on dating sites just to find friends. Sites say friendship and dating but they are mainly about dating. Do people ever just want a friend and not a romantic interest?

15 likes & 53 replies
    • Anthonyc 22nd June 2021 at 7:52 pm

I guess you could just say looking for friendship nothing more I’m sure you would still get a response, that said I’m very new to dating sites as I have just recently divorced after being with my wife for 34 years

• PhilB 22nd June 2021 at 10:45 pm

I think they’re pretty much all about dating really. I think if someone is looking for friends they are more likely to join clubs, a church or similar.

• Hertskev 23rd June 2021 at 8:23 am

I think there should be sites to find exactly that Sylvia.
      I am happily married, and we would both like to have our own friends it so hard to make friends when you get older.

• vaughanpauline 5th October 2021 at 4:53 pm

Silver Friends is just what it says, a rapidly growing, area on social media specifically for friendship not dating.

Friendl and supportive with membership open to over 50s from the uk only.

Zoom and real life meet ups.

Message me for an invite or find us

• Brummie Boy 5th October 2021 at 11:42 pm

Would also like friendship only, wife and I need more friends, either virtual or local, since retirement have lost contacts

• Fluffy 23rd June 2021 at 12:38 pm

i think dating sites are for dating , plenty of friendly people on here for friendship Sylvia 🙂

• Deleted User 23rd June 2021 at 7:11 pm

I think with some people it depends how soon they visit these sites after a breakup. A lot of people are lonely and just want to chat. This happened to me about 8 years ago and a few people I spoke to became frustrated as they were looking to date, not continual chats.

This site is a good forum to cover both sides although some of the comments I’ve read in the dating side suggest some frustrations.