Home Forums History & Nostalgia Family tree and tracing heritage

• Family tree and tracing heritage

Has anyone had success in tracing their family tree?  We have just published this piece for tomorrows newsletter.  It would be great to hear any tips and suggestions from others….

Posted by Stuart
    • Reply by Daisychain

I’ve also used Freebmd to find both individuals in a marriage and all or most of the children from a marriage after 1916. It amazes me how much you can find out about people’s families from a very small amount of information. In a number of cases just the name and date of birth. It’s rather scary so do be careful when giving others your personal details. If you post your tree to Ancestry you can prevent others seeing it unless you give permission.

Happy hunting and enjoy.

• Reply by Angel Lisa

I have been researching my family tree since 2007(I have 14,303 people) and I have learned a lot of things over the years. Do not treat other peoples family tree as if they are correct, many many people make mistakes. Always do your own research to check on any information found/given. Make note where you get your information from and people you contact, their contact info and what family they are linked to. Back up your tree constantly! Save frequently to an external drive and then also somewhere else too! I lost a vast amount of family tree stuff, personal photos of family, landscapes, documents, music…all sorts of things when my laptop and external drive died within a couple of days of each other. It was devastating. We only managed to retrieve an older version of my tree and bits and pieces. I know have things saved on my laptop, I have a general back up external drive and another external drive and I use a ‘cloud’ also…I learned my lesson!