Home Forums History & Nostalgia Family tree and tracing heritage

• Family tree and tracing heritage

Has anyone had success in tracing their family tree?  We have just published this piece for tomorrows newsletter.  It would be great to hear any tips and suggestions from others….

Posted by Stuart
    • Reply by CarolineB

Hi Stuart, Loving the article on tracing your family tree. I have been doing family history research for 15 yrs now. I started with my own family and moved on to doing trees for friends and family. I recently spent over a year researching a tree as a present for a friends ‘special’ birthday. I went the extra mile (literally) and travelled all over the country to visit local history centres and photograph churches where his relatives were married or houses they lived in etc
      He was over the moon with his present. Of course a lot of research can be done online now, but be warned it is addictive! The article gives lots of good ideas and advice. I have just advertised locally on Social Media to do family trees as an unusual Xmas present, so hopefully might even make a little extra doing something I love. If anyone wants any help or advice please give me a shout.

• Reply by Stuart

Thanks Caroline!   Sounds amazing – post covid I love the idea of travelling to trace down ancestry – it adds real meaning to a trip and becomes a real life detective adventure!   I’m not surprised your friend was over the moon with their present, its such a personal and powerful gift to give to someone!  Thanks for your message and have a lovely Sunday.

• Reply by RKD