Home Forums Learning Duolingo

PattyG Posted 5 months ago
Duolingo

Hello all. Does anyone subscribe to the Duolingo app. I have been using it for a few months to learn Spanish but it’s so annoying waiting for the adds and also running out of hearts ♥️ when I make too many mistakes (often!)
Is it worth spending the extra for 12 months? I think I would if it were cheaper!
Thoughts?

3 likes & 21 replies
    • Suziku 10th October 2021 at 9:40 am

I paid a 12 month subscription on Duolingo for Turkish as it opened up more, so I’d say it’s worth it, particularly if you stick with it and use it daily.

• PattyG 10th October 2021 at 11:28 pm

Thank you. I’ll have a look.

• Sand 14th October 2021 at 7:45 pm

I do french but I do not pay, I would not bother if I had to. There are other language apps.

• PattyG 14th October 2021 at 10:37 pm

Agreed. There are many good apps out there including Duo but I’ve always found that when you pay you get extra learning tools for your money. Besides which I’m very impatient and a 30 second add feels like 30 seconds of my time wasted. 😂

• Maria Zed 14th October 2021 at 9:44 pm

We were planning to travel to South America in 2020 before covid hit the world. I chanced upon Duolingo then. So I signed up for the free app. I’ve done 630 consecutive days since then. It has been a part of my daily routine now. It’s quite fun for me. Que divertido!

I’m from Australia and our international borders are still closed. When it opens and when we are ready to travel again, I feel confident yo puedo hablar Español. Estoy listo para Sud America!

Good luck. Hope you keep going.

• PattyG 14th October 2021 at 10:32 pm