Home Forums Health DREAMS, GOOD AND BAD ARE GOOD FOR YOU, WHAT DO YOU...

WEST MIDLANDER Posted 3 months ago
DREAMS, GOOD AND BAD ARE GOOD FOR YOU, WHAT DO YOU THINK?

When I studied psychology, we absorbed from our lecturer that all dreams were good for us, in that it proved we were experiencing deep sleep. Apparently we were told that the Hippocampus (part of our brain) was responsible for storing our day to day memories. Something like the RAM component in our PC or Laptop. Without 8 hours sleep, the hippocampus becomes equivalent to ‘waterlogged’, which interferers with making new memories. Has anyone suffered from sleep deprivation and how has that affected you?
As a nurse, I used to work lots of night duty, but while I had to be awake, I noticed many of my patients had difficulty sleeping. I used to tell them to sit on the very edge of the bed, then they would soon drop off. Bad joke eh?

3 likes & 15 replies
    • LucasH 22nd October 2021 at 7:42 am

I had loads of dreams last night, some very weird.
      I think they were good for me.

• Gerard371 22nd October 2021 at 8:05 am

If I wake up, and remember a dream, which soons fades, I always feel like I’ve had a good sleep.

• Moriarty 22nd October 2021 at 10:23 am

I never seem to have good dreams these days, if anything good is about to happen, I wake up! What’s all that about?
      I also have dreams in which I’m in trouble with former bosses, or I’m searching for something…

• beetlejuice 22nd October 2021 at 12:55 pm

who has the horrid dream where you are struggling to breathe and trying really hard to wake yourself up so you dont die?

• WEST MIDLANDER 22nd October 2021 at 11:41 pm