Home Forums Jobs & Careers Can’t get anyone to employ me

Add comment

• Can’t get anyone to employ me

I gave up work to care for my Mum and now I need to return to work no one will employ me. I am 55, I am doing volunteer work to get me back into the work place, I am an administrator / receptionist but am applying for all sorts of different jobs.

Posted by pennypops
Viewing 2 reply threads
    • Reply by Stuart

Hi Penny,

Thanks so much for your response.   I can completely understand you not wanting to move into the care industry given the circumstances.   Your health and mental health have to come first.

It sounds like you are doing all the right things, and great news you are getting invited to interviews – which implies your CV is doing its job well!      Also, volunteering and staying up to date on courses are great tactics to stay highly relevant to employers so it sounds like you’re doing all the right things.

On the interviews, being confident is a great first step which it sounds like you are from the feedback you are receiving…   It also sounds like you are being hugely pro-active so you may well be familiar with all our interview advice – https://restless.co.uk/career-advice/job-interview-tips/

One of the challenges most people tell us is getting real, actionable feedback from an interview – as many recruiters try to avoid giving specific development feedback to candidates they decline, for fear of upsetting them and getting involved in a lengthy debate.  This is particularly frustrating as it offers no clues as to how to improve.

Even if overall, an interview went really well, there will always be things to improve and sometimes that can make all the difference on a marginal decision next time.  It might be a step too far, but I don’t know if you have a trusted friend who might be willing to do a ‘mock’ interview with you on the promise that they will be 100% open with their feedback?