Home Forums History & Nostalgia 1940’s Christmas in The Prefab Avoncroft Mus...

• 1940’s Christmas in The Prefab Avoncroft Museum Bromsgrove

Attachments:
    Posted by Josie The Black Country Wench
    • Reply by Gardener52

Looks like my Nans house

• Reply by Josie The Black Country Wench

It is were I used to work as a volunteer. I was a costumed first person interpreter. Loved being a woman from 1947 every Wednesday.
        I particularly liked all the elderly people who came and would talk to me about what it was like to live in a prefab.
        I dressed that room up for the regular Christmas event, that my friend and I would host as though we lived there and were having a party. We were a costumed vintage street theatre duo. We had such fun.

• Reply by Gardener52

I work with that age group and I can see how the nostalgic room settings would be so nice and take them back to happier times .
          Vintage venues and markets and events are huge now

I love vintage events and vintage clothes. I wear a mash up of present day, 1940’s, hippie and 1980’s does 40’s clothes. Can’t beat a good 1940’s coat and hat. Such glamour.
          They used to bring the alzhiemers group into the prefab. It was called suitcase memories. It was so good to see those men and women suddenly remembering and talking about the past.

• Reply by Gill B

I remember the crepe paper and the bells made of concertinered (?) tissue (may have made up a word there)!

We were very fortunate that we had donations from the public, surprising what people keep. The Christmas tree was a gift and all the decorations on the tree were too. All from that time period.
        I loved that building, I was responsible for taking care of it and making sure that everything was authentic. I had loads of help from my boss who was the museum curator. I also had free reign on Wednesday to create chaos. My alter ego Dot was in her element.

• Reply by Gill B

😂

• Reply by Gardener52